Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey I have a few questions regarding how infantry spearmen work. All i know is that they can attack with the 2nd rank as long as they didnt charge. Also i think Spearmen can use shields because the rules dont say that spears are a 2 hand weapon.
1st question: X = Unit of infantry spearmen and O = an enemy unit.
ok I apologize how stupid this looks. But the unit of spearmen are facing forwards towards the words "1st question" and the unit of "O"s flanked them. How many "X"s get to fight back against the O's? is it 3? or do the spearmen get to fight back with 6 (the 3 spearmen behind) Basically does the spear "attacks in 2 ranks" ability apply to models flanking them.
If a unit of spearmen charge do they attack in one rank or two ranks for the first turn in combat? And after the first round do they get to continue to attack in 2 ranks.
1) Spearmen may only attack in 2 ranks to the front. Hence if Flanked (/Reared), only the men in base contact with the Flanking (/Rear) unit may attack.
2) When charging Spearmen attack with 1 less rank than usual. This means the front 2 ranks for most spearmen, but the front 2 for some Elves. After the first turn of combat, the Spearmen revert to attacking in 2 ranks (3 for the Elves... Bah!)
Your questions are answered in the Fight in ranks rule on pg 55, BRB. Only weapons with the requires two hands rule cannot be combined with a shield.
Be sure to read over any rules you may have doubts about a couple of times, even if you leave it a few minutes before reading it again - you can notice something you didn't see on the first pass.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Page 55, BRB , for the rules reference. The paragraph fight in several ranks (or whatever the wording in english is) covers exactly the questions.
It ain't easy bein' green... :-)
How many spearmen attack in this case?
Ignore the " _ " . Everyone in the first rank hits becouse there in base contact, but the most left and most right X models are only fighting corner to corner, do the models behind them also hit?
If a unit of spearman charge and they have hand weapons as well as their spears, can they use their hand weapons for that turn they charge then switch to spears for their next turn?
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
Ok thanks. Sorry, my rule book is back home and its been a while sense I've played.