Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, I had this situation happen in a game yesterday.
A unit of Orcs and a Giant both declare charges against a unit of Glade Riders - the Orcs are coming in from the flank, and the Giant is slightly off center to the front. The glade riders elect to flee.
Before charges are moved, the Orcs are 6" away, and the Giant is about 3.5" away. Thus, the Glade Riders need to roll higher than a 2 for fleeing to avoid being caught by the Orcs (who are M4), and higher than an 8 to avoid being caught by the Giant (who is M6). Since the Orcs are the higher unit strength, the Glade Riders flee away from them. The flee distance is rolled, and the result is a 9. 9" is enough to mathematically get the Glade Riders away from both charging units. However, after the Glade Riders move, they are physically only about 7" away from the Giant.
Does this mean the Giant catches the fleeing Glade Riders, as they're physically within his charging distance? Or would he be placed 1" away from the fleeing Glade Riders as they've rolled a high enough flee distance to escape?
I made an illustration using powerpoint to help show this situation:
We played it that the Glade Riders get away. The inital distance between Giant and Glade Riders (3.5") plus their flee roll (9") is higher than the Giant's charge distance (12").
Ok I can't find it anywhere in the BRB but it's a weird thought that a big giant would start running at some glade riders and then change direction. Sounds kind of stupid so I would say it's a failed charge.
5000p. High Elves
Rork, what's your take on this?
Those are some dead glade riders. Fleeing from a charge != breaking from combat in terms of a direct dice roll comparison.
If you flee from a charge, you run directly away from the biggest unit strength (p19, last paragraph in the "Flee" section). You move your models regardless of whether you're going to be able to avoid the charge of the initial unit or not (p19, 2nd paragraph of the "Flee" section [move them in compulsory part of phase, which is before moving chargers]). Then, if you get caught by a charger, you are wiped out (p22, "Caught" section). With this, you're wiped out where you wound up, not from where you started.
In your situation, the Glade Riders flee from the Orcs (highest unit strength), and in their final position will be caught by the charging Giant. The Orcs failed charge, Giant did not.
Aye, I agree with moob. I went over the rulebook and didn't see any particular reason why they wouldn't get wiped out. They were caught on the charge, so seems fairly straightforward.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I've never encountered this before. It's actually quite nasty and if you plan things carefully you can make it almost impossible for a unit to get away.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Aha. So fleeing units move in the compulsory moves part of the movement phase, then chargers are moved. Okay.
What if Unit A flees from a charger Unit B into the path of another charger Unit C that was directed at something else? Does Unit C automatically destroy Unit A as they pass through it? Or are they subject to enemy in the way, declare a new charge against Unit A, and Unit A makes another flee move this time directly away from C?
I think I saw this someplace and the consensus was that the unit would make another flee away from C. I believe the rationale was that is was a new charge and since the unit is already fleeing, their only charge response is to flee again.