Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hm, something interesting: the special character hero choice for the new vampire army book, Konrad von Carstein, has the Red Fury vampiric power with the Sword of Waldenhof.
The Red Fury power (p83) states that for each unsaved wound that the Vampire causes, it gets to make an additional attack. The additional attacks don't benefit from this rule.
The Sword of Waldenhof (p62) states that any model wounded by the Sword of Waldenhof (after saves) loses 2 wounds instead of 1.
So does this mean if Konrad is fighting something with multiple wounds, such as Ogres, that he gets 2 extra attacks for each unsaved swing? So if he hits & wounds 3 times, causing 6 wounds, he then gets another 6 attacks?
And similarly, the Frostblade (p84). If a vampire with the frostblade wounds a dragon and kills it outright, does he immediately get another 5-6 attacks if he had the Red Fury ability, too?
Excellent point, in my opinion YES! for every unsaved -sword causes 2 unsaved wounds- he gets 2 more attacks when fighting multi wound targets! AWSOME
Vefador's Bloody fist
No. Unsaved wounds are counted before wound multipliers. So you hit, wund, fail save, get more attacks. Then wounds are multiplied.
Essentially: You inflict 1 Wound, that wound is unsaved. One unsaved wound generates 1 further attack. Any unsaved wounds are then doubled, resulting in the target loosing a total of 2 wounds on their profile.
What he said
You inflict 1 wound, that becomes 2 wounds, so he only gets +1 attack per unsaved wound inflicted.
I tend to think that's how it works, with the doubling afterwards, if nothing else but for balance's sake... but is there anywhere that it's explicitly stated?
Well, it would seem that to fit the classification 'unsaved wound' there has to have been the possibility of saving it in the first place if the victim had adequate armor, a ward, etc. The actual wording of the rule for the sword may help a bit there.