Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, last question for now:
If a spell is cast with Irresistible Force, is it automatically cast successfully, even if the result does not meet or exceed the casting value of the spell? The rules are a bit ambiguous about that.
Unless using the book of Heoth, if you cast with IF you have already rolled 12 on two dice. No spell has a base casting value of more than that anyway.
For the book of Heoth you have to roll equal or better than the casting value as well as roll a double.
In short answer to your question, yes you have to equal or better the casting value to get the IF.
"Here dead lie we because we did not choose to live and shame the land from which we sprung. Life, to be sure, is nothing much to lose; but young men think it is, and we were young."
A. E. Housman
Lol, i was going to post this Q the other day, but just asked on LO chat instead Turns out (DavidVC04 helped me reach the answer) that you dont have to actualy reach the casting value.
I think the Skaven spell Plague has a casting value of 13 and since they have different rules for IF, a double six on its own wont get that spell off? I could be wrong.
Skaven cast with IF on a roll of a 13 exactly, and that is the only way they can.
Lord kroaks RUINATION OF CITIES ZOMG... casts on 14+ but he gets +2 to cast so a roll of double sixes is IF and casts it anyway.... so yes it seems the rules always have IF actually getting the spell off.
Dave ive been thinking about this a bit more. I think you need to go with RAI over RAW. IF is designed to be able to make a spell unstoppable, not just to make it auto cast. Looking at some of the spells and items available (Book of Hoeth, Ruination of Cities etc) I think you must have to atleast get the value required to cast. The IF simply makes it un-dispellable.
That would seem intent is more along the lines of IF goes off no matter what, regardless of whether you successfully rolled high enough.
Watch this before posting:
Posting and You