Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a rank and file unit say with 5 files has full command and then 4 characters are put into it. Would 2 of the command group go into the second rank negating they're bonus?
e.g standard bearer and musician go into second rank meaning no +1 combat res and no musician in case of draw. Or would characters go into second rank?
It's your choice who goes back, command group or characters, but yes you will lose any associated bonuses with the model who goes back.
There is a bit of funkyness in the rule for joining a unit. If a character moves into a unit during the movement phase, it would seem someone else has to go back to make room for him in the front rank, he can't join directly into a back rank.
The only exception (that I am aware of) is that Brets still get to use their standards and musicians in the back ranks if displaced by characters.
I agree with Affe. I don't think you do get bonuses from Brets but hey, I'm not the Pope in this matter (and my opponent won't let me read his Army Books because I know too much about his armies).
Characters go to the first rank and you lose the banner bonus etc (just to answer your question directly).
Bret Standards and Music do indeed still count even when in the second rank of a Lance formation.
Just to offer an idea, if you have too many command, characters to fit in the front rank, you can reform to a formation 6 or 7 wide,or as many as you need, to fit everyone in the front rank. You can also do this after the first round of combat if you win.
Last edited by sirkently; March 17th, 2008 at 17:11.