Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have searched my BRB over and over and am still stumped. At our LGS we've always played that if a unit stands and shoots it cannot melee. I'm not sure if we got this from an older edition or where but we've always done it. just last weekend we had a newer player stand and shoot than melee. When we told him our "rule" he said he didn't see it in the rule book, sure enough neither could we. Are we just making things up? or is this actually a rule...
In short, "if a unit chooses to stand and shoot can they still melee?" Also where in the bsb this can be found would be great!
Thank you in advance,
PS I apoligize for any and all spelling, and/or grammer mistakes.
Errr, we've always played that you can fight after S&S. I think thats a rule someone at your gaming club made up probably because he hates other people shooting or he just misunderstood a rule.
For me the reason is that the BRB would definately state that you can't, which it doesn't as far as I know.
Hope this helps8Y.
Ah, well, not expicitly allowed (but as ArchonFarseerGuy already mentioned, it ain't forbidden either ;Y)
But on page 28, at the to-hit-modifiers, it mentions under stand&shoot that the troops suffer the malus due to the fact that they don't have time to aim, because under the pressure of the charging enemy they make haste in order to ready their swords
(Or whatever in the english version may be written there)
Another hint is the entry about pistols on page 57, where it states that the pistol can be used for stand&shoot and can be used as handweapon in the following combat.
Furthermore, the FAQ has made it clear that you can s&s with a pistol but you're able to switch to another weapon for HtH if you desire so.
It ain't easy bein' green... :-)
Stand and Shoot is purely a Charge reaction, it doesn't prevent the ability to strike in combat in any way. Im guessing that someone just started by thinking that was a rule, and it spread through the club as a rumor.