Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
OK, I have been wondering about this for awhile now, and I can't seem to find an answer in the rule book.
Here is the scenario: A unit of say 20 models has a character in it. The unit gets whittled down over time and eventually flees combat with only 1 regular trooper left and the character. Now you can't rally the trooper and character since its below 25% of original starting value.
Now here is the question: Can you shoot at your own unit, hoping to kill the trooper and not the character, and if the trooper dies, rally the character on the next turn.
If this is legal, is it acceptable in play. Would you be called out for abusing some etiquette. Just want to know.
That'd be pretty funny, but no - you cannot shoot your own models. Well, Skaven can, but that's about it.
What would be the point in killing the last rank and file guy anyway? They can still rally even with him there... i think. Under 25% is 40K only afaik. Then again, i do play TK, so i dont really flee too often so i may be mistaken..
I believe skaven can only do it when the units in question are in CC, so that wouldn't help you here. But as far as etiquette goes, if someone actually suggested this during a battle, I would probably let them do it out of respect for the sheer novelty and outside the box thinking. I may just be sentimental, though... I read a book where that happened (firing arrows at your own troops to halt their retreat), and I've always thought it was a cool idea.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
Kinda. With ratling guns, jezzails, and the like, that's true - they can only hit their own when in combat (or a random direction misfire from the ratlings). Things that don't require direct targets, such as the warp lightning cannon, where you just pick a direction and shoot can hit their own guys regardless of CC status or not.
The best way for Skaven to save a character, though, would just be to skitter leap him out of the unit. He'd still be broken, but now he's alone and can rally.
It's not legal by the book, but I'd let you do it, just remember half the hits are going to the character! =)