Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This came up in the VC forum and since it's a rules query I thought I'd post it here to the broader audience. I made the picture below to illustrate. Purple boxes are rank and file troops, green box is a ridden monster on a chariot size base.
The assertion I disagreed with is that drawing A is a unit with a +2 rank bonus. I think that this is faulty, as nowhere is it indicated a model can occupy multiple ranks. The monster is rank 1, file 5, he can't also count as rank 2 file 5, rank 3 file 5, etc. Picture A is just an expedient for game play and movement purposes for what you actually have, which is picture B, a unit with a +1 rank bonus and an incomplete third rank. (I'm not suggesting anybody actually set up a regiment that way, it'd look stupid and be impossible to move, but that's how the ranks should be counted.)
It just does not seem possible to me, from the rules, that you can have 3 ranks without 15 distinct physical models. tacking a monster onto the end of a 4x4 block shouldn't suddenly give them a +3 rank bonus!
A is right. In a way, its more the unit Str that counts towards ranks, not just the fact its one model. Cav are US2, so occupy two spaces. Ofcourse it differs for larger bases, the actual positioning is very scenario dependant, it would be hard to cover them all here i think.
When would that situation ever arise...?!? lol. And i think id have t say no here, as there are less than 5 Rank and File models.
I think InquisitorAffe is on the right track here. Deceiver, if you are correct about unit strength, then a unit of 5 wide 2 deep cavalry models would have a +3 rank bonus!
EDIT: The impression I have is that you should look at how many models make up the front rank, and then look at how many models you have in total for the unit, and use THAT to determine the rank bonus. In the top example, you have a front rank of 5 and 13 total models, giving you two full ranks (+1 bonus) and an incomplete rank with the 3 remainder.
Last edited by Moglun; March 26th, 2008 at 21:36.
Put the box on the table by the window in the kitchen.
You could easily create that situation with the new VC book. It doesn't make much sense, but consider adding a couple more purple guys, you'd have a solid wall of monsters that have Look-Out-Sir! and are immune to regular ranged weapons. The regiment is 5 wide, and, if applying the notion that monsters can occupy multiple ranks backward, 4 deep. (also, if they can't occupy multiple files, why would they be able to occupy multiple ranks?)
What would these Chariot sized characters be exactly? Im not sure if chariots themselves can join units...
Yea why not, but that wouldn't just apply to VC, any army could have 4 Cav Characters joining a unit of 12 RnF, for a total of 3 ranks.
But why would you ever do it? It limits their movement, and all the pts in tat unit, your opponent would shoot it at range, then avoid it in combat. Waste of points just for some rank bonuses i think...
I posted this in the vampire forum aswell so thought I should post it here. I was under the impression that the following was true.
You dont actually need 20 distinct models to get 4 ranks. Case in point Saurus hero on cold one in unit of Saurus. H = Hero on cold one S = Saurus
Only 19 models but 4 ranks as in each rank there are 5 models.
Also note that the following would only give you 1 rank bonus from combat.
S = Slann T = Temple guard
I've seen this done many times before andyou would only get 1 rank bounus in combat as the 2nd and 3rd rank have only 4 models in them.