Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a few questions wich I have checked in the Rulebook but can't seem to find a answer to them and I was hoping someone could help me out.
When in a unit Flag Bearer, Musician, Champion and if chosen a character are in the front rank of the unit, but when fighting in Close combat doesn't that mean that they are the first to die? And if not, in the rulebook as far as I could tell it says you can choose wich unit to attack won't people always choose any of those then? Especially Characters?
In the Wood elf Army book it says that Dryad's attacks are magical, What exactly does that mean? That no armor saves are allowed?
These are my questions, I hope that they aren't too stupid but even if they are I hope to get them answered seeing they are bugging me alot ^^. Thank you in advance.
1. Attacks must be directed against a champion or character. If they are not directed, i.e., someone says "I am putting two attacks on your unit champion," then the attacks go into the unit. Standard bearers and musicians do die techinically but someone then steps up from a rear rank, takes up the banner and says, "Ha! Now I am the standard bearer!"
It doesn't matter until they're the only models left and there's no rank and file to take the wounds.
See page 81, right column.
2. Some units in the game have limited ward saves, like daemons and forest spirits. Those units' limited ward save is negated by a magical attack. Also, ethereal creatures can be harmed only by magical attacks, including spells and things like a Dwarf war machine with runes.
I don't exactly get the whole Champion and Character attack explination. Does it just mean they are mostly toast first while fighting in CC? Because what is the use of challenges if you can just put 3 normal foot people on a character then anyway?
Last edited by Calaglin; March 29th, 2008 at 21:15.
I'll give you an example.
You target a Charecter with 3 normal guys with handweapon shield. By some miracle you hit and wound 3 times, he fails all 3 saves, but the charecter only has 2 wounds. In this case you only get 2 points for combat resolution.
If you challenge and your champion hits and wounds 3 times and he fails 3 saves. You get 3 points of combat resolution.
I see, so it's just a way to get get more Combat Resolution, thank you for clearing that up, I have one more question that I forgot to add, when wielding a great weapon, it says you attack last, but does this count on a charge aswell?
I'll try to make the attack allocation clearer.
First, the Character and the Champion. Both of these can only be wounded by attacks which you specifically direct against them. If you just roll your attacks against the unit, then these two cannot be wounded by them. Also, any excess wounds you cause against characters if you do decide to attack them instead of the rest of the unit do not carry over onto the troops.
The Standard Bearer and Musician cannot have attacks directed at them and are never removed as casualties unless there are no more rank and file troops in the unit. While the models killed are obviously those in the front rank, you remove casualties from the rear rank. As DVC04 said, you can imagine that if the standard bearer or musician are killed in combat, the trooper behind them will step forward and pick up the banner/instrument thus taking over the role.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
I want to thank everyone for all their input. =)