Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay since the Dreadlance came out for VC - this rule keeps popping up. The rules book states that lances only give +2 strength on the charge - nothing about it can't be used in follow on rounds of combat. So - knights charge in - +2 strength - can they use it in round 2? The dreadlance lets all lance hits auto hit - so theoretically, if the lance can be used in every round of combat (no +2 after round 1) - this guy is always going to hit.
Second question - challenges. If I charge said knight in and issue a challenge (and is accepted) do I get my +2 strength bonus for the first round of the challenge? Following this - can I continue to use my lance in the combat?
Yeah, you keep using the lance throughout the combat (barring special rules like for Bretonnia), and so you get the bonus from the Dreadlance. So you hit automatically every round, and at +2 strength on the turn you charge, also if challenged or challenging.
I don't know where people get the 'lance-only-in-first-round', maybe from jousting movies, where the lances are designed to break on impact. A lance is just a longer, heavier spear (as is also stated under the description on pg.56), and there is no reason it shouldn't be usable in subsequent rounds of combat. In fact, pg. 54 of the BRB states that you must choose a weapon first round of combat and stick with it, and the rules for lances says nothing to the contrary, so you HAVE to hit automatically in all rounds of combat with the Dreadlance.:rofl
Not only can you continue to use the lance in subsequent combat phases (though without the strength bonus), but you must as you cannot switch weapons in a combat barring a special rule - of which the lance has none.
*edit* - Doh, beaten to it!