fleeing and panic - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, Uxbridge
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    fleeing and panic

    imagine a unit flees from combat and get 13 on 3d6. unit tha pursues them rolls 10 on 2d6. The fleeing unit is above unit strength 5 and it flees through friendly models. The pursuit roll is enough to charge the above mentioned friendly unit. Question is does said unit take a panic check or do they make a charge reaction to new charge as normal?
    Diagram to make things easier to understand: y and z units from 1 army unit A pursues unit z but doesnt catchg them. Unit z flees through y. A tries to charge y.

    yyyy zzzzAAAA
    yyyy


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Hi, see the last paragraph on page 49. Even if they got to declare a charge reaction as normal, they would still have to take a panic check. It basically states that anyone who declared a "hold" reaction but has friends flee through them before the chargers are moved changes their reaction to "flee" if they fail their panic check.

    In general, though, I would say that they take their check immediately from the ' Friends break from close combat within 6" ' rule.

  4. #3
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Hmm, the order of things could actually make a difference if they panic and roll poorly for the flee movement.

    Fleeing troops who escape pursuit are moved before their pursuers, so I believe it should be (without a rulebook to check =(, smite me now)

    1) Z Flees through Y
    2) Y takes a panic test and fails, flees but rolls snakeeyes.
    3) A, still in range, declares a charge against Y, Y is broken, so their reaction is automatically flee, they make another flee move (directly away from A instead of along the same path Z was moving as before).

    Vs the alternative

    1) Z Flees through Y
    2) A's pursuit is found to be within range of Y, Y declares hold
    3) Y fails panic test due to Z's flee move
    4) Y changes reaction to flee, rolls snakeeyes, is caught and destroyed.

    See how it makes a difference?

  5. #4
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    I would think they'd test before the charge was declared. Either because of proximity or being run through, neither of them say that you test at the end of the phase like the 25% casualties does. So your first example would be the case.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts