Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
-I deal for example 6 wounds to a unit with full command. i.e he would get 4 attacks back as champ, standard, and musician correct? After the combat the men from the second rank fill in the third automatically right?
another example- If a guy only has a champ in his unit and i inflict 5 wounds on the charge, he would only get those two attacks back right? and even if he lost and during the next round he gets to go first he would get 6 right because the second rank moved up?
Basically, do they move up even if you loose? And do I have the rules right? My book is at a friends house and he is at work so I can't call him.
Thanks in advance.
The way it works is as follows:
If you want to kill the champion, you must direct attacks against him. Otherwise, he will survive and make his attacks back.
In terms of taking wounds, the musician and standard bearer are treated like any other rank and file, so they are often killed in combat. When a front rank trooper dies you remove the model from the back because all the models behind the dead one move forwards to fill the space, and the same happens with the musician and standard. Imagine them being cut down in combat, then the chap behind steps forward and picks up the banner or instrument, so you still have a standard/musician.
Basically this means that if a unit is, say 5 wide with full command, and 5 models are killed, then the models killed are the two front rank rank and file, the musician, the standard and one second rank trooper. That means that the unit would only be able to use the champion's attacks to attack back. You don't remove the musician or standard because the troopers behind take over the role.
Well, that was a long way of explaining it and I hope it made sense. One tip that I've picked up is that it is a good idea to direct one of your attacks against the champion. If it fails to wound, then it would have failed to wound a normal trooper anyway, and if it succeeds, you've removed the champion, which means usually two fewer attacks back rather than one, which is nice.
Alright, I gottcha but one question. No matter what it counts as the second rank moving up right? So my group of IG's charge and kill five as you said, and they would go last next turn, the guy would get back all 6 attacks right even if he lost the last round of combat. (On the NEXT combat phase, not the one where I charged him)
Last edited by Imperial_Might001; April 18th, 2008 at 23:00.
Yes, whatever happens the soldiers behind move up, and you always remove the casualties from the rear. So no matter how many models were killed, you can fight with the whole front rank again next turn, assuming you still have enough models in the unit for a whole front rank of course.