Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
O - emeny unit
X and Y - My unit
Is there any way I could strafe to the left with both of my units so that more of the Y models would fight?
And a side Q:
O charges Y , Y flees behind X but still is in O charge range, does the O catch the Y and slam into X?
In the first drawing you're pretty much stuck. Movement in combat is limited to winners increasing frontage and turning to face.
For the second, charging isn't like pursuing, you don't automatically catch and destroy the target if there's range, you have to actually physically catch up to them. If X gets in your way, you have the option to either declare a new charge on X or stop one inch short of X. If X should flee and you do ultimately catch up to Y, they'd then be destroyed.
I'd say so as the dice roll is how fast your unit is travelling in a certain space of time, so they are quick enough to cut down X and slam into Y
This is for the side question =S forgot to add that, could be confusing otherwise
Last edited by Vefador_the_cunning; April 25th, 2008 at 10:22.
Vefador's Bloody fist
O stops as X if thats what you're asking. Y can then rally and poke their tongues out at O.
As for your first question, it would depend on how gentlemanly your and your opp are. In the old rules, they had an Appendix on clipping. It involved a little push to the left as if it was a straight-on charge. Sometimes the rules have to be breached a little to avoid lawyering/loopholes/unforeseeable circumstances/whatever.
For the first, if both units have charged that turn then they should be placed evenly in combat. If one charged after the other (Y after X it would have to be) then they are stuck fighting like that until kills or something change the situation.
Thnx everyone :happy:
And a little quick question, can flying units fly over forests? We had a big fight at our shop over this..
Yes, flyers move over obstacles and scenery without penalty. Rulebook pg. 68. Can't imagine how it can be discussed?
Two sentences later is says 'Flyers may not move [...] within a wood' ?
Exactly, so how is it?
Flyers: flyers can be flown OVER any terrain peice, but cannont land in one. They may NOT fly out of a terrain piece either. note that normal charge restrictions reply, you must see your target to charge them! -flyers land on the ground after they move-
if you want to move a flyer into terrain simply fly infront of it and then next turn use your movment like any other unit....
flyers are good at removing enemies that are in defended obstacles -fences, hedges- as they can see the target AND ignore the effects of the terrain.
Vefador's Bloody fist