Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I ran into problem the other day.
Right, you mistcast, you roll on the chart and its one where the enemy can cast a free spell. You can use your powerdice to dispel, but can you use a dispel scroll? it doesn't say you can, but surely you can. My opponents, really sticking by things word for word said i couldn't, but logicically i think you can.
Gah! RAW layers... so annoying. Yes, you can use a Scroll if you wish.
I'm curious what the argument that you can't use a scroll was. "It can be dispelled as normal" seems pretty clear cut to me, and the scroll doesn't anything about opponent's magic phase.
I agree. I can't find anything in the rules that says you can't use a Dispel Scroll in that situation.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
This is the exact wording:
"...but it can be dispelled by the player whose turn it is as normal (by using power dice in the same way as dispel dice)."
As normal, I think, refers to how you at the end of your casting phase you can use remaining power dice to get rid of RiP, per page 110. Page 122 says a scroll can be used instead of dispel dice, but it doesn't mention power dice. I'm tending to agree with your friends, doctordogmeat.