Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I have a flying character say with magical cloack to allow him to fly, so he is still unit strength 1 and on foot. May he join cavalry units? I think the answer is yes but was just making sure cause going to tournament soon and people in my GW have argued that it doesnt seem right.
Sure, he can join a cavalry unit, but he can't fly to keep up with them while in the unit. The whole block would be restricted to his base M value. Also, if they're fast Cav, they'd lose their free reforms and feigned flight.
Actually they'd keep it. The rules state that Characters gain the Fast Cav abilities, but not the shooting ones.
But otherwise, I agree with what you said. They can join infantry units, and then you could fly off when it's convenient.
hehe your good at answering these rules problems AFG, i should keep that in mind next time im playing a game and your close by
AFG is the rules czar. I just hate it when a 16 year old corrects me, but I'm glad he sets me straight.
He's exactly right here. Fast cav remain fast cav, and characters are kind of fast cav, but mostly they're wannabes.
Only a mounted character can move in the same manner as the unit as per p70. Infantry Character + Fast Cav unit = no more free reforms etc.
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; May 16th, 2008 at 06:17.
What about a vampire that has both the ability to fly and the ability to move 9 inches when on foot? What if he joins a unit of infantry? Is he able to move with them, or must he slow them down?
I think it's all rather silly. He joins the unit and they move about as normal. It's not like he starts on foot and then boards a chariot or something.
Well, there isn't anything in the VC list that he couldn't keep up with at M9; I don't understand. Even Direwolves only go at the same pace. They'd lose their free reform because he's not mounted as above, but still move 9. If he joined an infantry unit it would be no different than any other character joining any infantry unit.
What I was trying to address in the first post was, suppose the Vampire doesn't have the Talisman. He has a base move of 6 and the ability to fly. It would be totally legal for him to hop into a unit of Blood Knights and run along side them, but he can't claim he's flying to 'keep up' with the mounted models. (He doesn't meet either of the two criteria in the rule book that describe who is allowed to use the Flyers rules.)
The knights would be stuck with Move 6, March/Charge 12 as long as he's a member of the unit.
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; May 16th, 2008 at 06:45.
You're right there Affe, I haven't read the rules for a while and just noticed that word mounted (mere technicalities). That said, the rules say you move as fast as the slowest member of the unit (pg74) but it's not too specific whether Flyers are different to this, but since common sense says they can't, I'd have to go with that and say they have to walk inside the unit, reducing teh unit in turn.
Fast Cav + Infantry Character = no longer FC, move at lowest M value.
Fast Cav + Mounted Character = retain FC, move at lowest M value.
Flying Characters (US1) are able to join any (non flying) unit, but may not use their fly move while moving with that unit.
Last edited by Phoenix; May 16th, 2008 at 08:50.