Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quick question from a fantasy noob.
Was playing my first game of fantasy yesterday and wasn't sure if this was valid.
Hand of gork(?) spell moves a unit 2D6" forward.
Can I use this spell to move a squad that suffered a 1 on the animosity table?
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Yep for sure!
Vefador's Bloody fist
Sorry to necro-post this seeing as it has been inactive for a few weeks, but having just starting O&G I would be interested in any clarification people have on this.
The Direwolf 7th Edition O&G FAQ gives the opposite oppinion to Vefador, and states...
Q. If a unit has Squabbled, is it possible for the unit to move via the
Hand of Gork spell? What about if the Waaagh! spell is successfully cast?
A. No and no. The Animosity rules state that the unit can do nothing that
S. Orcs & Goblins Army Book pages 16, 40, 41 / Direwolf FAQ Council
Now personally I would tend to agree with the Direwolf interpretation (but I dont want to do myself out of a move if I don't have to). So, what do other O&G players / WHFB buffs think?
(This is of course subject to me being correct in thinking that a roll of "1" is the Squabble result, I don't have my army book handy)
Last edited by Knape97; June 5th, 2008 at 14:17.
I don't really know how this situation would resolve, because although the unit cannot move as they are squabbling, I imagine a spell could well move them. It isn't really clear to me in terms of the rules which out of the squabble and the spell would take precedence, so I'm also interested what everyone else thinks. Of course if you really don't know you can always D6 it.
Oh, and I don't think I ever said welcome back, Knape.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
Thanks Ancalagon, it's good to be back
I suppose it is always going to be a rare situation, and my gut says they could not be moved by the spell (if only to keep it sportsmanly). You can always target another unit. However in tournament play if you absolutley need to move the unit, it will be interesting to see what others think.
A unit that squabbles may do nothing during that players turn. IE- no movement, no shooting, no magic. If already in combat then it does not test for animosity. As it may take no actions, it cannot be affected by a spell, if you cast the spell hand of gork or waagh the Animosity takes precident over the spell, it happened first, and is pretty clear based on the Ork Faq/Direwolf, also i'm pretty sure in there it says the unit may take no actions.
If you cast Hand of Gork on a unit that squabbles in a tournment then basically you waste your spell, that is exactly how it will resolve. Nothing is stopping you from casting the spell, however the effect of the spell doesn't happen.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
Animosity should take precedence as its something that affect a unit before the turn for an entire turn, based on an army ability not a spell effect. I will re-read animosity when i'm back from work. However, if it says anything along the lines of may do nothing that turn, then future spells will not have effect. The Beast Cowers is again a spell, a spell effect can be negated by another spell IF the 2nd spell indicates it can. There is a severe difference in spell effects and army effects. Not many armies have similar effects.
Basically a unit fails its animosity check, there is no black orc boss in the unit, it squabbles and the units fights it out amongst them self. In rules terms they must do nothing until the following turn while order is restored. A good example, unit of savage orcs fail their animosity check and squabble, are they bound by frenzy that turn... no they are not, basically they are stuck in place. In this example the animosity went first, but supercedes the frenzy in game effect.
ADDL INFO: Army book says a unit that fails its animosity may do nothing for the turn. To me that means may not be effected by spells, that' my interpretation. There is no info in an FAQ anywhere on it to my knowledge, looked on GW's site and didn't find any.
Last edited by MouseC112; June 6th, 2008 at 13:31. Reason: addl info
So does that also mean that they can't fail panic tests and run away that turn? It would seem to if you go with the strict-literal reading of the squabble rule. I don't see how a spell that forces them to move can be ruled out based on that wording, but a Psychology rule that forces them to move would still work. Running away is still moving. I suppose that's a tradeoff I could live with!