Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question about armour saves that popped up when I played at a new shop last night. For some reason two different places are playing it two different ways and I really couldn't find anything in the rulebook to spell this out for me.
Armour Save on unit is 5+. Gets hit with a strength 5 hit. That makes the armour save effectively a 7+.
Scenario 1: Shop plays that you roll a 7 to save. You roll; if you get a 6 you roll again and 4, 5, or 6 saves. 8+ would be roll a 6, then roll a 5 or 6, 9+ is roll a 6 and roll a 6 again etc.
Scenario 2: Shop plays that if your armour save is reduced to anything over 6 and you wound there is no save at all and you are automatically dead.
Which scenario is correct?
Scenario 2 is correct. Scenario 1 is only used for shooting attacks. If modifiers for shooting rolls take you over 6, you can still hit using scenario 1. If armour save modifiers take you over 6, you don't get an armour save.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Aha. Hey thanks a lot!
Yep, if an armour save is reduced to less than 6+ it disappears entirely. Like sirkently said, a required roll of 7+ only ever exists in rolls to hit for shooting attacks.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
subsequent question but the oposite way. is it posible to get an armor save of 0 or lower? (i know a 1 always looses but if you had say -1 then got hit with S7 (-4) that would give you 2+. or does it always stop at 1 or 0? i ask b/c you could have a dwarf lord, mounted on shield bearers, gromril armor, shield, hand weapon, rune of stone.
this gives (each one cumulativly)
gromril 4+, shield bearers 2+, shield 1+, stone 0+, hand weapon in combat -1+
Last edited by Hondor; May 28th, 2008 at 19:54.
you can indeed get a 0+ or negative save in WFB. lizardmen lords and heroes mounted on cold ones are perfect example of this
5+ scaley skin, 6+ light armour, 5+ for being mounted on a cold one and an enchanted shield = a 0+ save. throw in a blessed spawning of queztl and thats a -1+ save ;Y
however, if you check the rules for shield bearers, dwarves are unable to get a save better than a 1+ save. (its in the shield bearers description)
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^
nm - I should read more carefully
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; May 28th, 2008 at 21:42.