Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was wondering if it were possible to charge the flank of a ranked unit when there is another unit roughly 1"-1 1/2" away for a combined charge. See diagram (Dryads charging flank of the Black Orcs). Thanks a lot!
Diagram:Edit: can't work the diagram 100%, but hopefully you get the point.Code:(Black Orcs) XXXXX XXXXX XXXXXX(Gobbos) XXXXX XXXXXX | \ | \ | \ YYYY(WR) Y Y Y Y Y Y Y(Dryads)
Yes skmirmishers can freely run around the gobbos to get at the orcs as long as at least one model can see the orcs.
However, you must measure the total distance for each individual Dryad, anyone who doesn't have enough movement to get to the orcs around the gobbos is automatically relegated to the second rank. If the gobbos are too close, it might mean there's no room for a second rank of Dryads! Failed charge, Enemy in the Way!, you can either charge the gobbos or stop 1" short of them.
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; June 5th, 2008 at 06:05.
So, it would be considered a failed charge if there is not enough room to create the second rank? I've read on some of the forums that the charge would work, and that you either move the Orc unit to make room for the ranks, or move the gobbos. Is any of that true?
A lot of people would play it that way; however, it is not the rules. If you are unable to get a charging unit into position because of another enemy regiment in the way, it's a failed charge (and you may declare a new one against the obstructing regiment if you wish.) They don't politely scoot over and make room so you can flank their buddies!
Implying that a player should actually move his units out of the way to allow an opponent to get charges goes so far outside and beyond the FAQ Appendices that it's hardly even the same topic. The FAQ says units that get charges should be maximized, not to rearrange the board to let them get the charge in the first place. How would anyone ever guard their flank? Also, I don't know how Empire could ever manage to lose a game if you played that way =).
Interesting question. It doesn't say for skirmishers how to handle this situation, so I would make the assumption that you would handle it the same as regular ranked up unit.
Lets say a regular unit, say glade riders, charges from the dryads position. In this case assuming that you wheeled and could hit the the main unit without hitting the gobbos, and that the unit wouldn't fit between the gobbos and the main unit, then the unit you are charging would be aligned to you, not you to it. This is according to the BRB on page 21.
Without any other clarification, that is how I would play it.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
That one actually is in the main rules. If you unable to fit do to interposing terrain / units etc then you just move the charging unit a bit. If that wont help, move the charged unit. See page 21. So if the dryads can fit into a second rank, move the Orcs across a bit (away from the gobbos) Til the Dryads can fit, preferably with a 1" gap between the back of the Dryads and the Gobbos.
Opposed to Affe's last post, but to keep his final paragraph sensible, this is of course only true if the 1st rank can fit in the gap in the 1st place. No clipping + Moving, that's unsportsmanlike
Last edited by Phoenix; June 5th, 2008 at 19:33.
I'm not buying that you can 'draw out' a unit like that and force the Black Orcs to walk forward a full six inches to accommodate your desire to charge their flank. According to the rule book p21 the target unit will wheel as necessary to align the battle line with the charger. Moving is not part of the rule. Saying a regiment has to walk 6" forward out of their battle line during your movement phase and expose their flank so that you can charge it is silly and as I said before a gross over extension of the FAQ.
If there's no room for the charging unit to fit where they're trying to charge, the charge fails. With the exception of wheeling to align the battle line, the opposing army doesn't move around for you to allow you to get charges.
restated in perhaps a better way:
*IF* the charge succeeds following the core rule book, we can *THEN* amicably apply the guidance in the FAQ and maximize the battle line.
What I feel is being suggested here is that when the charge fails following the core rulebook, the defender should rearrange his units to allow the charge to succeed. That I cannot get on board with. It leads to all kinds of craziness such as a unit being out of range in a combined suddenly being in range because the target regiment had to go for a walk to accommodate a different enemy.
Seems like we're uncovering ways to abuse the system that was suggested to prevent abuse of the previous system =).
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; June 5th, 2008 at 20:42.
Anyone else want to chime in? I'd certainly appreciate it. Would the fact that it is a skirmish unit make any difference? (Considering skirmisher can run around interposing enemy units during a charge, it seems plausible that they could run between units given the ebb and flow of combat) Again, I can see arguments in support or against.
Last edited by Riposte; June 5th, 2008 at 20:51.
Last edited by Riposte; June 5th, 2008 at 21:02.
I think the can't be within 1" stops it from being a charge. The repositioning happens after a legal charge to maximise combatants, it's not there for you to manufacture a charge.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.