Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do magic weapon such as Sword of might still count as hand weapons for purposes of being equipped with a shield or additional hand weapon? Also do Magical Lances still count as a lance, gaining their bonus on the charge?
Magic Weapons no. Magic Shields do though.
So for example:
Sword of Might + Shield = 6+Sv
Sword of Might + Enchanted Shield = 5+ Sv
Mundane Hand weapon + Enchanted Shield = 4+ Sv
Lances will count as a Lance for the Charge Bonus IFF the rules for the magic lance state ''count as a lance''
Note this will also apply to magic weapons. If their rules state ''count as a hand weapon'' then you will get +1Sv when combined with a Shield in combat. Bretonnians have one... shame they're mounted lol.
It depends on teh specific weapon.
If it says:
Lance. Killy death lance of doom, adds +1 to hit and any wounds caused cause d6 wounds.
This then means the weapon counts as a lance which follows teh standard rules for lances, except where overideen in the description.
However, if it said:
Killy death lance of doom, adds +1 to hit and any wounds caused cause d6 wounds.
Then it wouldn't be a lance, it would be a magical weapon that looks like a lance, but does not inherit the properties of a lance, and uses it's own rules instead.
Same with hand weapon. Unless a magic sword/axe etc states "Hand Weapon" in its description, it won't be a hand weapon, and so won't benefit a user on foot with a shield, nor can it be used with the characters current hand weapon (unless there are specific rules for this in the weapon's or character's profile - Marius Leitdorf or Konrad Von Carstein for example)