Victory Points Question for Thorek - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    35
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Victory Points Question for Thorek

    This question came up recently at a 'Ard Boyz Tournament. If Thorek with his anvil is reduced to 1 wound remaining and all the guards killed, and he is listed for "xxx points" in the army book, calculating victory points should be half of his army book points (which incidently states he comes with the anvil of doom).
    The difference the player stated was that under the regular anvil of doom entry under Runelords, anvils can be purchased for +xxx points for the Runelord. His logic was that take the army book costs for Thorek, subtract the points stated for the anvil in the beginning of the book, then take half of that to calculate Thorek's victory points.
    Store manager ruled it was a special character so half of his listed points were awarded - just seeing if anyone has any clarification on this one.
    Only reason I throw it in was it was about a 100 pt difference in Victory Points depending on the manager's decision.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    That is an interesting one...

    Fist of all, can the anvil actually be killed itself? Or is it like a Casket of Souls, where it just dies if Thorek is removed? Or is it immune to all damage and will hang around forever?

    Secondly, other Special Characters have a divided subcost shown in their profile, usually pts for them, and for their mount, so you know how much you get if you kill one but not the other. Im assuming Thorek doesn't have this, so im inclined to say if HE is reduced to under half wounds, then you get half of the full cost.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    35
    Posts
    103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    You are correct in that the Anvil cannot be destroyed - it simply is destroyed if the crew + runelord are destroyed.
    Also correct in that Thorek doesn't have a divided subcost - I think that was more of the reason for the ruling.
    Interesting question though it caused ALOT of controversy.

  5. #4
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by jax40kplyr View Post
    You are correct in that the Anvil cannot be destroyed - it simply is destroyed if the crew + runelord are destroyed.
    Also correct in that Thorek doesn't have a divided subcost - I think that was more of the reason for the ruling.
    Ok, then its pretty set in stone that if you kill/ wound Thorek + Guards, then you get VicPts relative to the whole cost. There is no subtraction of the Anvils cost.

    I think.. lol

  6. #5
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
    Ok, then its pretty set in stone that if you kill/ wound Thorek + Guards, then you get VicPts relative to the whole cost. There is no subtraction of the Anvils cost.
    Agreed. Thorek and his guards alongside the anvil form a unit, so if they are reduced to below half their starting number/wounds then half VPs are awarded based on their total cost. The two elements are not separate (the anvil is an addition/upgrade), so VPs are awards as one block, not two (as would be the case for a character in a normal unit).


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts