Impact Hits - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Impact Hits

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Somewhere (over the rainbow!)
    Posts
    136
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If you are a lone charcter fighting a lone character and you are charged by a chariot, can you avoid the impact hits by challenging the person you are in combat with? (evil and chessy idea i know, but i was just wondering how it would work)

    Never drink more than 2 Pan-Galactic Gargle Blasters unless you are a thirty-ton Mega Elephant with brocal pheomonia!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Yes that's how it works, if you're a lone character nothing else can harm you whislt in a challenge. But you can only issue one if they don't (or it's your turn), but why evil? Tis the rules ^_^

  4. #3
    Member Oven.Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Yeah, the charge would be worked out before you could issue a challenge.

    Can you refuse a challenge if it is just 2 characters? Surely there's no back row to go and hide in?

  5. #4
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Actually I think you find challenges are done before are hits are made, the chariot would charge then in the combat phase the challenge could be issued before anything else happens.

    And no, if the character is in a one rank or not in a unit (ie no back ranks) then the challenge can't be refused. You have no choice but to accept.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Slai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x2)

    Err yes you can decline a challenge if you have 1 rank/line, but only if you can get your character out of B2B with the enemy. So if you have a 20 long single line of archers with a Hero in it, and get charged by a 6 strong cav unit, you can decline and place your hero at the end of the line, to avoid B2B, thus hiding.

  7. #6
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Ok, ok but I meant if it was say a 5 man cav unit. Then you couldn't (unless none were in B2B ) otherwise I was correct, right?

  8. #7
    Member Oven.Glove's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Does it make sense that challenging comes first? Unless of course it's an Assassin

  9. #8
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Challenges are made at the begining of the combat phase, BEFORE any hits are made. So they wuld be in a challenge before the chariot hits.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    If you are charged by a chariot as a lone character, whether you issue a challenge or not those impact hits are for you.

    You cannot avoid them unless there is rank and file to take the wounds. In which case the character is considered to step down from the chariot and fight toe-toe.

    If your on a monster then the impact hits are directed against the monster, if your both in chariots impact hits are directed against the non-charging chariots profile.

    The crew horses, wolves, coldones or boars... do fight in the challenge.

    Regards
    Pep

  11. #10
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Pk you've understood wrong, he means if he's already facing a lone character (so the two heros are on foot and engaged in combat) THEN the chariot charges. Not that the character on a chariot is challenged.

    So before any hits are struck you get the chance to challenge a fellow character, so the two on foot and one challenges. This means he's in the challenge, thus no other attacks can be aimed at ANY of the two characters. And so he's safe from the impact hits.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts