Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Tzeentch have a spell that affects everyone within 12 inches even if engaged in combat. Would I get to use my wardancer's magic resistance aginst this? Normally I would say that you do get magic resistance against this but consider the following:
Wardancers are roughly 12 inches from greater deamon, and noone else is near them, when he casts this spell. Now this spell will only affect these wardancers if they are within 12 inches. So when do you measure to see if they are within 12? If you measure just before you dispel you may find them out of range to use their magic resistnace and therfore decide not to dispel it.
Treat it like you do MRes vs. the TK Casket, apply only the MR of the unit with the greatest MR that would be affected.
Well looking at the BRB, I see that measuring range happens after a dispel attempt has been decided upon. Therefore, I would say that you would have to decide if you were going to attempt to dispel it before the wardancers are determined to be in range or not. Just roll one die separately for the WD MR and add it in if they are in range.
I does seem a little strange as logically there MR would have to go off if they are in range, but unless there is some rule clarification somewhere, the BRB would stand and you would have to decide to dispel or not without knowing if they were within range.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Hmm, that is an interesting conundrum. It of course happens any time a spell with a range is used on an MR unit, but I guess it doesn't raise eyebrows so much until it has an area effect. I'd say declare how many of your pool dice you're going to use first, then check range and add in any MR that's been triggered.