Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a quick question about spears. Someone I play against says that on the first turn you can fight in two ranks, the second in three ranks, and so on. He says that staff members at the local Games Workshop told him that. But I read in the rulebook that they only let you fight in two ranks. Who is correct? Thanks to anyone who answers my question.
You can only ever fight in 2 ranks with spears, and that is only in turns when they have not charged. If he was using HElves however, then they can fight with spears in an extra rank (2 on the charge, 3 otherwise). No unit, to my knowledge, can ever use spears in more than 3 ranks.
As a side note, pikes can fight in 4 ranks (or 1 on the charge). Very few unitshave pikes however, and a majority of these will be DoW
There won't ever be a time when you'll be able to fight in more than two ranks with spears (except for High Elves and DoW Pikemen). If that theory were even possible with all spear-wielding units, then pitting a regiment of lowly troops against them would be downright absurd (and what would the point be of getting DoW Pikemen if that were around?).
Now I've got myself a question of my own to ask:
How does using spears when you have shields make you lose the benefit of shields in close combat?
Spears aren't listed as "requires two hands" in the rulebook (well, some models carry spears with both hands, but others carry them single-handedly). That, and the only weapons I know of that require two hands are great weapons, halberds, and flails. How does this idea get across?
Checking the rulebook about shields in the meantime to see if they say anything regarding spears.
Last edited by Nakkai_the_Wanderer; June 26th, 2008 at 01:11. Reason: removed morning stars part
When poeple say you lose bonus of shield they usally mean that when you are using spears you dont get shield/hand weapon bonus. So since most core troops have option for spears or hand weapon the difference will be a +1 armour save using hand weapons to the front.
Most times I have preferred to go for the extra save over the extra attacks.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone