Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
let's say I know that somebody is doing the bait & flee on me, but has left their hammer within charge range of the chargers who would need to wheel only slightly to hit them. Am I allowed to make the wheel or do I have to go straightforward after the bait? They can't declare a charge on the hammer as there's something in the way (impassable terrain or a friendly unit) because of which they can't avoid between the bait entirely
the blue line shows the unit is too wide to fit through
the green line shows the wheel they make after the bait has made his flee response, making it to the hammer.
See BRB pages 19 (Flee reaction) & 23 (Enemy in the Way). Charging other units after your original target has fled can only be done through "Enemy in the Way" - No other method is possible.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
right, missed the "straight after the intended target" line with the "enemy in the way" rule
The best bet would be to declare the charge vs. the hammer unit first, and then "clip" the bait....
Is that a legal move?
If it is, I'm guessing the bait will first take a charge reaction, i.e. flee, which will be straight back since chargers align to the charged unit, and I'll be in the same situation as before
You draw a line directly towards your opponent which has fled. If that line crosses another enemy unit, you may redirect your charge at this unit - so in essence you have caused his hammer unit to flee first and then caused his bait to either receive the charge or also flee.
Sure, but that's going under the assumption that the hammer will flee. Why would it have fled when it would just have been a failed charge on a hold?