large monster in combat has no LOS? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    large monster in combat has no LOS?

    If I have a Lord of change who is a large monster in combat with small troops - does he have LOS to cast spells requiring LOS or he loses it like a normal model? Seems fishy he loses LOS in combat...


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Benevolent Dictator CaptainSarathai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    inside your head
    Posts
    9,221
    Mentioned
    77 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1480 (x8)

    It really doesn't matter. Just like shooting, you may not cast spells out of close combat onto other units. Some spells- like Flaming Sword of Rhuin may be cast while the caster is in combat, just as some spells, like Vanhel's Danse Macabre may be cast into combat from the outside. However, unless it is expressly stated in the spell's description, no spell may be cast into combat, or while the caster in is combat himself.
    So the simple answere is:
    NO, your Changer cannot see out of the combat that he is in.
    Pts Values for AoS here!

    Nippon Armybook: Isuu, Scribd, and free at Google Docs

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, Uxbridge
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Actually you can cast while in combat even if affecting units not in combat and even if the spell description does'nt say you can. So vampire in combat can cast danse on unitto charge them into combat. The restrictions are

    1. cannot cast spell at unit in combat unless specified, or affects only wizard himself.
    2. cannot cast magic missiles while in combat (regardless of large targets).

    As for the original question, being in combat has no affect on line of sight. Large targets can still see over units smaller then them in combat.

  5. #4
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Just like shooting, you may not cast spells out of close combat onto other units.
    /
    unless it is expressly stated in the spell's description,..., or while the caster in is combat himself.
    There is no such rule. A caster does not need any explicit permission to cast a spell while they are engaged in combat. To cast a spell *on* a unit that is engaged, requires special permission. But a wizard can, for example, cast a spell that requires no line of sight on someone else on a different part of the board while he is engaged with another enemy unit.

    I can't think of anything that would prevent a Lord of Change from casting 'over' an opponent.

  6. #5
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    The only restriction is that you can't cast magic missiles while engaged in combat unless specified in the spell. Any other spells are fair game unless they have specific restrictions also.

    So as a general rule, magic missiles can't be cast, all others can.
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts