Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is an unusual thing, but still, it's quite important at times
let's say a unit of black orcs has grimgor ironhide in the middle of the front rank.
If I were to try and get rid of that unit with a unit in the flank and one in the rear, but kill his entire unit in the process, leaving him standing on his own.
Now let's say I still have some attacks left (like e.g. from a mount), do I lose those attacks, or does he get to strike first (with his ASF rule), and I then get my leftover attacks?
He doesn't get to attack, as he is not in B2B with an enemy, and you can't attack him as you are not in B2B with him either. He will attack next turn....(if he's still hanging around!)
so in effect he doesn't get to attack even if he is the only thing left standing because my 2 units weren't in B2B with him at the start of combat?
That is correct.
The units are not redressed until after the combat is over, and hence Grimgor will not be able to attack, as he is not in B2B with the enemy, and the enemy cannot attack him either. He will have to then take his break test, and if he sticks around, then the ranks are redressed and units move bring in both units into B2B contact with Grimgor himself...
I also think that a Champion would still be alive if he wasn't in B2B as he is treated like a character as well...I need to check this in the BRB
Ah great - thanks!
A champion can be dragged down by excess wounds if he is the only member of the unit remaining. In that specific case you do not have to direct attacks on him to kill him. (e.g., if you hit a unit marching 5x2 in the rear and do ten wounds, you will indeed wipe them out, the champion is not left standing.)
Hmm, on second thoughts Affe's explanation seems more reasonable... ignore my first post, i think lol.
And then really on the opposite side, what if the only model you can touch is the champion in a 10 man empire handgunner unit on a flank charge, but it's with an uber death character.... he causes 10 unsaved wounds (think red fury vamp on a dragon). Only the champion is killed, not the entire unit.
It doesn't need to state is specifically. The champion is not an independent character in a unit, he is part of the unit. When there is nothing else left to take wounds, the champion does.
In the latter example, so long as it isn't a challenge, wounds are just going to go onto the unit, in that case, the champion first as he is the only one who can be hit by the initial attack.