Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey me and my friends have been playing 40K for a while, and then we started playing fantasy. we have just been playing with +1 attack for charging but i was looking through the rulebook and i didnt see anything about it. So, as obvious as this should be that you dont get the attack, i have to ask just to settle it. Do you get +1 Attack when you charge?
Alas there is no +1 attack bonus for charging...unless you have a special rule like the Spawning of Sotek. Instead the charger goes first the turn they charge.
so if i were playing high elves with tombkings there is absolutely no benefit to charging?
Unless, of course, you're riding in a Chariot or heavy/light horseman, in which case you'd get any strength bonuses from spears or impact hits from the chariot.
But no, you would not go first.
Best thing for you guys to do: Empty your mind of 40k and approach it as a whole new game. Reading how all the rules work.
It's so different that to try and play it like 40k but with a few differences you're only going to keep running into trouble like this.
Remember also that 40K was an adaptation of the Fantasy rules which has significantly diverged since inception. So the only things which are similar between 40K and fantasy are the WS tables, the S/T tables and unit profiles. Movement, shooting, close combat resolution, psychology etc are significantly different.