Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So this isnt a question about KB and mw but two questions one about each. First i have seen people mentioning magic weapons cancelling ward saves, but i looked in the rulkebook and could not find anything about it. Second, killing blow in the book says the target is slain, but it is a little vague as to whether they lose one wound or all wounds. Just curious.
Depends on whether it is a "true" ward save, or a "cheap and nasty" ward save like Dryads have. Dryads and other FOrest Spirits have their ward save negated by spells and magic weapons, as they are magically susceptible. Demons used to be like this as well, though not any more for some inexplicable reason...
For killing Blow - the target, it it's man sized is slain outright. For purposes of a challenge, if the enemy is slain by a killing blow, that counts to the limit of all remaining wounds on the model. e.g. in a challenge I cause 2 killing blows and a normal wound on an enemy with my characters White Sword.
The enemy character has 3 wounds remaining. My challenge combat res is thus 3 + 3 + 1 = 7
thanks that clears things up nicely
So for that example, you'd have 3 wounds + 2 overkill.
Ah - thanks for that - doesn't explicitly say eitehr way in teh BRB - is in in an FAQ?
Well you only get overkill in a challenge, so if you cause 2 killing blow wounds, and 1 normal wound to a person, you would get the number of wounds you have left for your combat rez. In this case if the character had one wound left and it was not in a challenge, you would only score 1 point for combat rez, and the rest of the wounds are ignored.
When in a challenge you get the remaining wounds on the model, plus any extra you got, so if the character had one wound left, you would get 3 wounds total for 2 killing blow wounds and 1 normal wound, if the character had 2 wounds you would score 4 points total, 2 for the first killing blow, and the next killing blow is counted as a normal extra wounds and the normal wound is just that, a normal wound.