Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can you move models within a unit after they are engaged? i know you can move characters, but can you move regular troops too?
I was playing with another new player today and i flanked his Kroxigor, arranged in a single rank. We both agreed he couldn't move the other Kroxigor to fight in the first turn, but he was convinced he could move the others in the group in his movement phase to fight as well. On the one hand, it makes sense that they wouldn't line up one by one to die, but i couldn't find anything in the rulebook to say that they could move, so i had to assume they couldn't. If they can, does this negate the flank bonus for the remainder of combat, seeing as how they are then lined up to face my unit?
Similarly, can u move a champion to fight in your movement phase like you can a character?
I'm fairly certain i was right, but i wanted to double check.
Second Question, how does combat work when units have different kinds of troops? I charged a salamander pack in the same game and I wasn't sure how combat worked. My opponent had skink between each of his salamander. He thought i had to roll for each model attacking separately because the skinks weren't ranked and had no one else to replace them when they died. If thats the case, are extra attacks wasted? Do i use the over kill rule?
Last edited by mikeyt_6598; August 5th, 2008 at 12:09.
If he wins the combat he can turn to face you to engage more troops. But he can't just rearrange his entire unit, otherwise there wouldn't be much point in charging someone in the flank ^_^
But to summarise here: if you win the combat, you can
- if you are engaged only to the front, you get a free Change Formation manoeuvre (but only to expand your frontage), and
- if you are engaged only to one side or rear, you get a free Turn manoeuvre to face your enemies (this means they no longer get the flank/rear charge bonus in subsequent combat rounds, and your unit will regain their rank bonus, and your characters/command models will then (probably) be in base contact with your enemy).
Basically, when you charge his Salamanders, he has to rank them up just as if they were a unit of skirmishers. Once ranked up, you can choose to attack anyone you are in base contact with. If you are only in contact with Salamanders you can only attack Salamanders, if you are in base contact with both Skinks and Salamanders you can choose to attack either (or both, if you have more than one attack).
Wound do not 'carry over' onto the other type of model. If you cause 5 wounds to Skinks, and there are only 3 Skinks in the unit, then those other 2 wounds are wasted.
The Overkill rule is only ever used in challenges, so you don't use that rule here.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
So for the instance of the Kroxigor, since turning only changes which way they face not actual pivoting on the spot, Kroxigor still fight 1 at a time right? all this maneuver would accomplish is to negate the flank bonus?
Last edited by mikeyt_6598; August 5th, 2008 at 18:36.
Correct - the kroxigors would have to win combat twice in order to have their full model count attacking if they were flanked. First win allows them to turn to face you (negating the flank bonus), but they are now 1 wide and X deep. A second win (assuming no break) allows them to expand their frontage to make them X wide and 1 deep, and have everyone get to swing in the next turn. Keep in mind, as Anacron stated, you can only perform those moves if you've won the combat.
The moral of the story: don't get flanked. :p
And to answer one of the original questions - yes, champions move around in combat similar to characters. So if you have a R&F on the flank, you can replace him with a champion if you so desire in your movement phase (assuming the champion isn't already engaged).
First off all thanks to everyone for clearing that up.
Second, i have another question. can a unit lose a combat without losing any wounds? all i saw was where it said wounds plus other factors (flanking, rank bonuses, etc) equals who wins and who loses.
Say for example a block unit is fighting skirmishers. The skirmishers inflict 2 wounds and take none back. If the RnF unit has plus 3 rank bonus, out numbers, and has a standard bearer, do the skirmishers take a break test even though they suffered no wounds?
Exactly right on your last one there. You don't need kills to win combat, the person with the higher CR at the end wins and the other takes the break test.
“You know wot the chain o’ command is? It's the chain I go get and bash you wiv 'till you understand who's in ruttin' command round here.”