Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If an irregularly based character (such as a Dwarf Lord with Shieldbearers) joins a standard regiment, how does one figure rank bonuses?
U = Unit
C = Character
In this diagram, I show a block of 15 infantry that has been joined by the Dwarf Lord mentioned above. Does row 1 count as a legal rank even though there are only 4 (5 if you cound the bearers as individuals for rank) models in it?
U = Unit
H = Mounted Character
In this diagram, I have joined a mounted hero to a unit of 15 infantry (not a good idea, I know). Are rows 1 and 2 legal ranks even though they don't share the same size base as the surrounding infantry?
Sorry if those examples were archaic.
Thanks in advance!
The current answer is...maybe.
A 6th ed FAQ answered this question and said that when characters on large bases extended into rear ranks they filled out those ranks in such a way that the rank gave a rank bonus (a 40 or 50mm wide base being two models, for example).
The 7th ed rules don't say either way.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone