Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have the hardcover rule book and have been reading in it and have not found the answer to this question.
Lets say its my turn. I have Unit A, my opponent has Unit B. Both units have movement 4 for a base. Unit A is 12 inches away from Unit B. Lets say I march up 7 inches. Now it is my opponent's turn. My opponent declares a charge, I declare to flee. I roll 7 for my flee move.
How does Unit B move? Do they move their normal charge range, and if they don't hit me they move their regular 4? Or do they roll 2D6 pursuing dice or what? I assume that the charging unit charges as normal, but since the enemy ran they are probably not going to get the charge.
So, to sum it up in 1 sentence, what do charging units do when the enemy flees from their charge?
Unit B would move 4" total. When you declare a flee, you roll and move that distance away. Now measure the distance between were the unit ends and the front of the unit that declared the charge. If the charging unit can't catch the fleeing unit with its charge distance, in your example 8", then it only moves its regular move, again in your example 4", and has the rules for a failed charge for the rest of the turn.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
What sirkently has said is correct. The page of the BRB being 21, under 'A Failed Charge'