Mounted characters in infantry units - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Tak
    Tak is offline
    Big Damn Hero Tak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    114 (x2)

    Mounted characters in infantry units

    I'm wondering...

    If a character on a mount joins a unit of rank and file infantry... is it possible to stop the unit from moving by casting "The Beast Cowers" upon it?

    I'm sitting reading the rulebook looking for an answer, and it seems to boil down to the question "If a character (which counts as a unit containing one unit) joins a unit do the two units now combine to count as one unit, or are they still two units that are now under the effect of additional rules (eg being unable to be targeted directly or being restricted by the slowest model's M)?"

    I'm kind of leaning towards "no", but it makes perfect real-world sense to be able to and I can't find the wording that says a character stops counting as a unit when it joins another unit.

    Last edited by Tak; September 29th, 2008 at 22:53.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Herman1004 Rising Leviathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Age
    23
    Posts
    1,266
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    125 (x4)

    As units are forced to move at the speed of the slowest model in the unit, yes. The mounted character cannot move at all, and the same goes for the rest of the unit.

    Regards,
    5000p. High Elves
    1000p. Eldar

  4. #3
    Tak
    Tak is offline
    Big Damn Hero Tak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    114 (x2)

    That, I understand. My problem is whether or not Beast Cowers can target the character.

    Apologies if me trying to reason my way through it hid the question.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Hondor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    48 (x1)

    From the rule book

    from "the beast cowers"
    "may be targeted on an enemy calvary unit, swarm, chariot or a single ridden or unridden monster."

    as when a character joins a unit he becomes part of that and he's with an infantry unit i would say no.
    Painting: 20 quarrelers

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts