Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If Irresistable Force occurs, is the spell cast, regardless of the actual dice rolls?
Like rolling a double 6 on a 13+ spell. Or getting a double 6 and a 1 in a 15+ spell.
Response is appreciated.
When life gives you anything, charge it with Genestealers.
Alarm clock? Genestealers.
Your boss? Genestealers.
The rednecks that cut in front of me at Wal-mart like I didn't have anything better to do than stand in line? Genestealers.
You'll have to beat the actually casting value of the spell. If it was the other way, some characters and items would be far too powerful. (Teclis, Book of Hoeth...)
5000p. High Elves
If you roll 6,6,1,1 then the wizard miscasts, rather than having cast with Irresistable force. Miscasts always take presidence over any other casting rule.
Herman has it right. You must always equal or beat the basic casting value. If you do, check for IR. If you managed IR then no dispel attempt can be made.
Aye - agreed with this as well, it clearly states the order in which you cast spells. Check for IRF iff. the casting value is beaten, and AFTER checking for miscasts.
The rule's still reading to me as though it would be cast even if it hadn't met the casting level.
"...any result of two or more 6s means that the spell has been cast with irresistable force. The spell is cast successfully and..."
Do slap my list if I've quoted too much of the rule, but I'm definately getting the impression that IRF supercedes casting values.
The rules for IRF are not 100% clear, but the GAP is that the casting roll must be beaten, and then check if two 6s are rolled, if so, then the spell is cast with IRF.
The sequence is:
1) Roll to Cast spell
2) Check if cast
3) Check if miscast
4) Check if IRF
Gived 2 6's usually beat most casting values, this issue only generally comes in when casting with Teclis and the Book of Hoeth. In these cases, both contain wording such that it states the basic value must also be beaten.
I did get one thing out of reading the FAQ...
Now I know my Skink Priest's Diadem of Power can store pool dice! I don't need the level 2 upgrade anymore, so hello spare points! =D
But, indeed. I can't actually think of a point where a 6,6 wouldn't meet the casting value. There's Ruination of Cities but then Kroak's bonus to casting makes a double six hit the value. And there's Plague, but Skaven IRF works differently so it's moot anyhow...
But then, I don't know Chaos magic and I suspect the Daemons have some pretty heavy sixth spells.
- VC with balefire corpse carts
- Daemons with banner of sundering
- TK with a casket of souls
Does a slaan gets some form of drain magic, too? I can't remember and it's been so long since I've played one that didn't just cast offensively.