Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Alright, so a friend of mine used a Comet of Cassandora on me, and the final effect affected three models of mine that had M.R. At the time we assumed that it didn't count, and many died. As the game progressed, and he pulled off 3 comets on me, we began to think it was a bit unfair. His troops barely killed a single skeleton of mine, yet he won the game in trumps!
Can Magic Resistance be used to dispel Comet of Cassandora even if the model isn't directly under the 'counter'? As the spell can affect anything between 1" and 6" on the first turn, and more afterwards, perhaps anyone in this range could use their M.R?
The spell when cast doesn't target a unit, so no magic resistance will affect it. You need to use your power dice on the second turn to dispel it if you can or get out of the way. Although I am sure you try to.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
I don't think it can, no. I'll check later today (it's 1:30AM here), but to my knowledge, the spell has to directly affect the unit somehow. So the Steed of Shadows used to charge the unit wouldn't grant extra dice.
ED: Dammit Kently- you beat me to it
No - MR is only against spells cast which "affect" you. When C-of-C is castm it only targets a single point on teh board, so MR is useless, it does not affect, nor target, any particular unit.
EDIT: k You guys are too quick!!
*goes to reply with above answer*
*Epic Slow Fail!*
Harsh. All right, I kinda guessed it was played like that, as the rules say it that way. Shame though, because it's so strong, and goes off before I have a chance to dispel it most of the time. He plays Teclis, a lot, so he damned near always gets a Double and thus Irrestible Force...
I love the sound of that rule; if only we didn't always play at his house
Many years ago, we had a fight, where he used a Comet of Cassendora. I didnt manage to dispel it (or was it because I werent taking note of that big flary thing coming down?) and in the end, if was so big, that it targeted the entire table. By the end of that round, the only model left on the table, was the caster himself ^^