Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Some Dark Elves manning a bolt thrower flee a charge from a varghulf, from about 11 inches out. The varghulf fails to catch the fleeing crew, but he can reach the machine without problem as he charges 16".
As I read page 86 of the rulebook, my charging unit stops at the machine, even if the crew gets away, and destroys it at the end of the combat phase.
My opponent asked if the varghulf failed the charge, which would have left him about 2 inches shy of the actual bolt thrower.
We went with the destroyed machine, but what do you guys and gals think?
I would say that since you are charging the warmachine, and they crew are merely manning the warmachine your charge distances are measured to the machine. So if you make it to the machine it is a successful charge.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
And I would add that in combat you will destroy the machine and overrun, most likely into the fleeing crew, which will flee again, most likely off the board.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Those High Elves sure do spend a lot of time running, don't they?
Yeah, I reread the rules, and y'all are right. Reach the machine, destroy the machine, overrun into already fleeing crew. So yeah, it's a good deal all the way.