fleeing as a charge reaction and pursuing - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    fleeing as a charge reaction and pursuing

    hello!

    i have a quick (and easy?) rules question

    if my opponent declares a charge against me, and i choose to flee as a charge reaction,

    will the opponent pursue as normal from where the charge would have ended? or will he make his charge move? or move his total charge move (maybe into my fleeing units?

    hopefully you understood what i meant

    on forehand - thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Svendborg, Denmark
    Age
    28
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x1)

    Rulebook, Page 22.

    Assuming that your opponent cannot reach You, after You've fled with your unit as a charge reaction, he/she will have to make a normal move, following the rules from having failed a charge.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    thanks!

  5. #4
    Senior Member Hondor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    48 (x1)

    question based on this.

    you charge unit a) they flee, their flee takes them beyond your charge move. but in the process they fled through unit b) which stayed put. now unit b) is outside of my regular move, but within charge range, do i then charge unit b) or mill about with regular move.

    eg with numbers

    Skeleton unit charges Night goblins, goblins in range (say their at 6") they fail fear test and flee through another unit of Night goblins (standing at say 8" (max of charge range) ) they pass panic. now would they charge into the 2nd unit or would they stop at 4"?
    Painting: 20 quarrelers

  6. #5
    Tomb King medic_4077's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Age
    45
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    42 (x2)

    If unit b) is both within charge range and along the charge path you are allowed to redirect the charge to b). But he doesn't have to.

    In your example the skeletons could charge into the second unit if you wished to.
    War Record Since Sept 2005
    Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
    New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar

  7. #6
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    But the second unit would get a charge reaction as well, and could choose to flee. So you could end up with a failed charge anyway.
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  8. #7
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Goblins outnumbered by something? Clearly there's some kind of fundamental error here...

    There's a fundamental misunderstanding in the OP that's important. Chasing a unit that fled from your charge is not a 'Pursuit' in any way shape or form. This has implications for assorted other special rules. You are still making a charge move under all the normal rules for doing so, the target has just changed their position.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts