Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is it able to move and fire? Or is it treated like a warmachine with all aspects?
We are few guys who are in doubt. Can anyone clarify the rules? Thank You
Well, according to the new Warriors of Chaos book, it is treated as a monster and handlers. Nowhere does it mention it is treated as a warmachine (except hits are treated as a stone thrower). So I would say that it can move and shoot.
I would agree with the above poster as the rules for not moving and firing are found in the general war machine section (pg85 to be precise) and not the stone thrower section, and as the hell cannon counts as a monster, not a warmachine, it can indeed move and fire (which I think i may have to utilise if I get round to using it)
EDIT: For an additional question, would a hellcannon be able to stand and shoot? Tee rules for warmachines not standing and shooting are found in the same section as the not moving and firing, so logicly if one dosn't apply to the Hellcannon, neither would. And other monsters (such as treemen) can use unusual ranged attacks for stand-and-shoot, so why not the hellcannon?
Last edited by rugby gamer; November 16th, 2008 at 21:32.
GEN 29:The 1st time you see this copy into your sig and add 1 to the generation
Don't know that you'll get any more a conclusive answer out of a thread on this forum than the ones anywhere else!
For my part, I don't see how it can move and shoot. It fires as a stone thrower. All the rules that apply to stone throwers apply to the HellCannon except those specifically altered. Stone Throwers can't move and shoot => models that fire using the stone thrower's rules for firing, can't move and shoot. If the thing hadn't been able to move and shoot in the last book, nobody would look at the entry in the current one and think that it would be able to.
I guess that's where the confusion lies. In the last ruleset it clearly stated that it was a warmachine, but the new rules do not, only referring to it as a monster.
I guess it's another one we will have to wait for an errata for...for a definite answer.