charging without seeing - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    charging without seeing

    The HE have a banner that says that you treat woods as open ground for the purpose of movement. My question is do the trees still block line of sight. We have a guy that has just started playing them that swears he read "somewhere on a forum" that you can have your unit on the other side of some trees(with no line of sight) and still be able to charge an enemy unit on the other side.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    To me, from the wording in that sentence, it is for movement only. Otherwise, it would just say" Treat woods as open ground"

  4. #3
    Member ajay29's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    31
    Posts
    249
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    Yer theres a WE spell that has the same wording almost; unit treats all terrain as open ground for the purposes of movement (or similar), as well as ethereal units treating terrain as open ground for movement.
    This does not allow them to "see through" terrain, it only allows them to move through it.
    I may be wrong but I think that WE got FAQ'd, so you could use that as a reference if it's there.

    Otherwise, just tell your opponent that just because you can move through the tree, doen't make make the tree invisible!
    Herald of the Colonel; Festooned with pistols, riddled with vermin, and finger lickin' good...

  5. #4
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    You still need LoS to charge, you can only get LoS in woods if youare closer than 2" to the edge, and hence can only charge according to the normal rules if you're able to see the enemy. The banner Of Ellyrion allos teh unit to move through the woods as if they were not there - if does not give the unit (probably Dragon Princes?) the ability to charge through said woods, any more than White Lions, Wood Elves or skirmishers can.

  6. #5
    Son of LO Wolf_Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    150 (x8)

    The answer is in the statement. For movement purposes only. You woul still require line of sight.
    Best Regards,
    Wolf_Pack

  7. #6
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by kithre View Post
    You still need LoS to charge, you can only get LoS in woods if youare closer than 2" to the edge
    Not sure if its just the wording, but just to clarify, basically any unit is able to see up to 2" into, out of or through wooded terrain.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts