Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I've searched this in the VC form and here and not found it.
To me it seems such common sense that it's undeniable, but I still play against VC players who get confused and upset when I tell them that their Blood Knights movement is 7", not 8". They then get argumentative and start showing me the pages of their book concerning Nightmares and how it doesn't touch on this.
As far as I can see the Barded Nightmare is only taken by the Blood Knights and a few special characters, not even the regular lord or hero choices can opt to take it, so I can see why they deny it. However, the main rule book clearly states that barded steeds have -1 movement in exchange for the +1 armour...
You don't see anyone else claiming their mounts don't suffer the -1 for barding... or is it just the few VC players I've met? Or has it, in fact, been touched upon in an FAQ and I'm completely wrong?
First, nightmares are not the same as skeletal steeds. Skeletal steeds, ridden by wights, get the insubstantial steed rule. I don't have my rulebook at work, but that's right, isn't it? Skeletal steeds for black knights; nightmares for blood knights?
Also, in the FAQ for VC, it's stated that skeletal steeds do suffer the -1 penalty.
So it soundsl like they're wrong on two accounts. Blood Knights don't ride skeletal steeds and even if they did, they'd still suffer -1 to movement.
DavidVC is correct - skeletal steeds get the insubstantial rule, ridden by Wights / Wight Kings (optionally). Nightmares are ridden by blood knights and vampires. Barding is barding. If you have it, you have -1" movement unless there's a specific rule stating you do not get the penalty. Vampires have no such rule in the army book.
One note, though, DarkHeff. Vampires actually can get a barded nightmare with a specific vampiric power.
Victory is mine! Kind of. Thanks for the assist, fellows. I'll be sympathetic in my spreading of rule clarification. Blood Knights are still awesome to behold...
Don;t be sympathetic in teh slightest...
Let them get into charge range (16") and then let them declare a failed charge, then remind them....
And show them the rules, and this thread!!
Join the LO army system! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=910
Last edited by Ancalagon; December 8th, 2008 at 18:53.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group