Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
~Can MR from one unit dispel a spell that effects a number of units?
~Example: A unit of pink horrors casts Gift of Chaos and effects three nearby units, and they get a 11. One of those units has MR 2. They other player rolls a 9 to dispel on three dice from their dispel pool, which is not enough. But the unit with MR adds another 6 on their two dice. So does the unit with MR become unaffected, while the other two units does? Or does that unit's magic resistance stop the spell completely?
All dice that you roll to dispel are rolled at the same time, and you state how many before rolling. In your case:
Cast on 11.
You want to use 4 dice to dispel it.
You take 2 dice from the pool. You ADD TO THIS 2 dice for the MR2. (They are not rolled seperately (unless you only have 2 dice of course, but then that would be a rather long game!))
If you beat the total rolled, the spell is dispelled. If not, all units are affected.
NB. If you have 2 units with MR in the effect area, you can only use 1 MR value (generally the highest), eg. I have a spell being cast affecting a unit with an MR2 and a unit with MR1. I would only be allowed 2 extra dice to dispel.
The effect is not cumulative.
Also unaffected by MR can be Gork's Warpath, where, ifthe first unit has no MR, the second, third fourth, etc. can have MR 1billion and it doesn't make a difference. By then the spell is cast and Gork is stomping away. I love seeing the look on my dwarf opponent's face when Gork manages to stamp on his Anvil of Doooooom repeatedly in a battle.
However, spells such as a "all units within 12" take d6 st4 hits are affected by MR, and you can use the biggest MR in the affected area to dispel it.
yes this is similar to the Tomb Kings Casket of souls which this question was answered in the FAQ
to pick out the one paragraphWhat happens if an enemy unit with Magic Resistance is in line of sight of the Casket when its incantation is released? Do you really add the Magic Resistance dice to the dispel roll (and very easily screw up the incantation)? More generally, if one of the targets for the Casket has a special ability against spells (Magic Resistance, rebound, dice stealing, casting score reducing…), does it apply to the whole Casket’s spell effect?
A. Magic Resistance does work against the Casket’s Light of Death, so long as the model/unit with Magic Resistance would be affected. Where there is more than one unit with Magic Resistance that will be affected, only one model/unit can add their extra dice (usually the highest). In all other respects, the Light of Death counts as magic that affects any enemy unit that can see the Casket, so other effects would also work as they would against any other magic. Having said that, however, a magic item that ‘rebounds’ spells isn’t going to have any effect – the Light of Death only ever affects enemies.
Painting: 20 quarrelers
Today I had exactly the situation of the original poster happening when playing with my Empire against Deamons. And while in my memory I thought that the rules applied as described in the rest of this thread. Me and my opponent did not think the magic resistance special rule was very clear on what happend with mass effect spells. Also we could not find any solution in the FAQ or magic section.
Now I think I can find a number of 6th edition articles on this matter, but still I would prefer a 7th edition one. I there somewhere (BRB,FAQ, etc) a clear description of the interaction between MR and mass effect spells for 7th edition? The TK faq is a nice start.
Thanks in advance.
Sorry guys, they nerfed the living crap out of Magic Resistance in the latest FAQ. The spell must now be targeted against the MR unit for MR to work. Perhaps it's a response to the idiotic amount of MR they've been giving some of the latest armies (looking at you Fleshhound swarm)
Check it out:
I would personally say it still works on the casket as GW's general principle is army bookk/codex specific ruling trumps general rules.
Apropos of the new FAQ; I would argue that if a spell is targeted at more than one unit, you would still get any MR if at least one of those units has it.
Having said that, I can't think of any spells that are targeted at more than one unit. Heh.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
one could argue that CoS does "target" everything that has LoS to it. but still TK FAQ does mention that you can get a single MR roll for it (by single i mean a single unit's worth aka a char with MR3 would give you 3 not a Char with MR3 and a unit with MR2 giving you 5. sorry you only get 3!)
Painting: 20 quarrelers