Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, we have had 2 different rules come up time and time again. We keep finding the answers but lose them again the next time it comes up.
#1 If I charge a unit. He flees 6" and lands right on the other side of another one of his units. His total flee is less that my total charge distance, but I will hit his other unit. I know I get the charge on the new unit, but do I also kill the guy because he didn't flee far enough, or does he live because I hit the new unit. Please cite a page number from where you found this, so I can confirm.
#2 What the crap are the rules for what you can do after you rally. I'm fairly sure if you're on foot and you rally, you can't do anything, but I remember there were special rules for mounted guys or fast cav or something. Please help!!!
1) The first unit is wiped out. (sorry no refs, haven't got my rb on me).
2) The unit may make a reform, it may then cast magic, not shoot though. Fast cav may move when they immediately rally after fleeing as a charge reaction.
1. "Enemy in the way" on page 23 is the rule in the main book about redirecting a charge. In the FAQ for the main rule book there is another dissertation on the scenario which makes it clear that the unit will get away.
2. The only units that can do anything other than reform are fast cavalry that I can think of off hand. And they can only do it if they fled from a charge. The feigned flight rules are on page 70 for them. They will be able to move their base move and shoot if they have missile weapons. Important to remember though that this applies only if they fled a charge, not if they rallied from anything else. [Edit] Any wizards in a unit that has rallied, any unit, will be able to cast spells as well.
Last edited by sirkently; December 18th, 2008 at 03:49.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
IA is correct. The rules for fleeing from a charge & being caught anyway are *NOT* the same thing as being caught when breaking from combat.
Breaking from combat = caught & killed if attackers get a high enough pursuit roll to match yours, then you move the pursuers.
Fleeing from a charge = caught & killed *ONLY* if the chargers can reach your final position after you fled.
The thing to keep in mind is that with a flee reaction, you move before the charging unit, so they must actually reach your new location... where as breaking from combat the check is done before you move.
OK, i wasn't too sure with that, and as I said, didn't have my RB to hand.