Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I've been thinking about this for some time. Normally you need 5 models in a rank to complete it and get the bonus for the rank, but are there any exceptions? What about cavalry, models on monster bases like Ogres and models on 25x25mm bases like Chaos Warriors? Do they also need to be 5 in each rank? I'm confused because these models are usually sold in numbers so that you get a symmetrical unit if you place 4 in each rank (Chaos warriors, Wood elf glade riders, Empire knights etc.).
Am I making sense? Thanks anyway.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
Yup, doesn't matter who you are or what size your base is, even Ogres would have to walk 5 wide if they wanted rank bonuses. (You don't often see an Ogre getting a Rank bonus....)
There are still some boxed sets from the previous edition that were designed with 12 or 16 minis, yes, but everything new is either 10 or 20 minis.
The rules of 5 models width for a rank bonus MUST be about models. Anything else is inconsistent. I hope an FAQ comes out soon, so that we can get a ruling on it once and for all...
Speaking of Base Size, sorry to go off on a tangent.
If you have an infantry unit and put a model on a cavaltry base in it. You'll have say 4 in the first rank, 4 in the second and the cavalry base will be in both. (not quite sure i explained that well)
anyway, Does the chappy on horse count as a model in the second rank for the purposes of ranks?
I've looked in the rule book can't can't find it specifically say anywhere that they do or don't.
The last rule book said the did so i'm just gonna think they do.
But I would really like to know if there IS somewhere in the rule book that says so and where.
Can anyone show some guiding light on this?
Sorry, just seen another thread about this, no worries (has no idea how to delete posts)
Last edited by Lord Borak; December 18th, 2008 at 10:30.
Last edited by King Alriks Bodyguard; December 18th, 2008 at 12:35.
P P WWW
P P WWW
Which is apalanquin with a 2 rank bonus, as we consider the palanquin to only occupy the fighting rank, and hence it must have as many wwarriors behind it as the warriors next to it...
As mentioned, 5 wide for a rank regardless of base size unless they have a special rule stating otherwise (such as Bret's in a Lance formation). The question about whether models joined to the unit having larger bases has no clear answer.
ya there is no clear answer but the rule book does say "models" and as you need equal models in each rank your rank would look like this
only exceptions to this is when they specificaly say it. eg skaven bell, lizardmen palaquine, dwarf shield bearers
Painting: 20 quarrelers
I don't know if this is truly "official", but at the shop where I play, they interpret the rule as this:
"To gain a rank bonus, each rank must include at least 5 models. If a model on a different sized base is added, it is assumed to be equal to the number of bases which it displaces, for the purpose of calculating ranks."
The basis for this rule is that the rank bonus represents models from behind "pushing" the models ahead of them, and adding "weight" to the combat. If there is a larger model, then it is obviously a larger creature/warrior/whatever, and thereby adds it's own weight.
That means simply that if a mounted character joins a unit of infantry, he counts as a model in each rank.
If a model 'counts as' only being in the fighting rank, what would stop you from ranking up like this?
We reason that the bonus of having a single physical model count for two model-spaces is counterbalanced by the fact that if the model is lost, you will lose two slots within the unit.
horse is killed/removed
if the horse is a 1 wound model, the opponent is actually at an advantage for killing that model. If the base in question is a multi-wound model, it still shouldn't matter, as a multi-wound model on foot would present the same difficulty in reducing ranks.