Confused about the FAQ - Von Carstein ring + mount - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Senior Member PrOtOcoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Iceland
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,019
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    176 (x4)

    Confused about the FAQ - Von Carstein ring + mount

    I was perusing the Vampire Counts FAQ and I came upon something that looks to me like a contradiction.

    It's on the last page and its about if a vampire with the Carstein ring is mounted, what happens to the mount when the vampire dies and subsequently comes back to life?
    Answer: Vampire reappears on foot and can't remount.

    Next question is what if the Vampire is riding a hellsteed (flying mount) and dies and then comes back to life since... "A character riding a flying mount is normally restricted from joining friendly units"?
    Answer: Vampire can't use the ring if he's on a flying mount.

    Err...why not? If he dies and comes back to life he's no longer mounted, thus those rules no longer apply to him. They just clarified that in the previous question.

    Am I missing something?


    Your fluffraping hurts my eyes. - TehDarkPredator

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    You are missing the fact that the previous question refers to Monstrous Mounts only, which the Hellsteed is not.

    If a Hellsteed-mounted (or Nightmare-mounted) Vampire uses the Carstein Ring to come back to life, then the Hellsteed (or Nightmare) will be resurrected with him. Since a flying character cannot join friendly units, the Hellsteed-mounted Vampire cannot be placed in any friendly unit.

    If a monster-mounted (Zombie Dragon or Abyssal Terror) Vampire uses the Carstein Ring to come back to life, then he cannot remount his monster and will return on foot.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts