Who can attack back? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member Hurtinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    518
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x2)

    Who can attack back?

    ok title says it all,

    I've read through the BRB and can't find it anywhere but every1 try's to pull this rule,

    in a combat when you've inflicted enough unsaved owunds to remove all the units touching you, can they fight back if there are still models left in the unit?

    example:

    chaos lord vs. 20 hammerers(ranked 5 wide 4 deep)

    chaos lord kills 5 dwarfs,

    can any dwarves hit back?

    I think they can, by the following logic:

    the soldiers behind the rank that died, step into their place and fight back, as is mentioned in the "excess cassualties" rule. therefor since more wounds can be inflicted then are actually touching, they should also be able to fight back.

    basically, if they can die extra, then they should be able to fight extra as well, get me?

    have I missed something entirely here?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Yeah, I think you missed something. Look at the removing casualties paragraph above the excess casualties part. Models stepping forward to fill the front rank can't attack. Only models in base contact when the fight begins can attack in any combat round, except those that have special rules for attacking from the 2nd rank or so on, like spearmen.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  4. #3
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Forgot the exceptions which you may already know. Unit champs aren't removed as casualties unless specifically targeted by an attack. Same goes for characters in the unit. So champs and characters aren't removed as casualties and will be able to attack back unless specifically targeted.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Hurtinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    518
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x2)

    perfect, yup checked it out and I did miss that, pretty importyant rule to be able to be missed so easily.
    Chaos Warriors (2009) 16-4-9

  6. #5
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Capital letters, please.

    They make the world go 'round. And keep LO a quality site.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts