Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I'm slightly unclear with the rules of casting spells while in combat. I know that certain spells CANNOT be cast into combat, unless it states that in the spell, but can a mage, while in combat, cast a spell out of it? or if the spell permits into it? Or are they too preoccupied with the battle to cast any spell?
They can cast any spells they want to, as long as the spell does not requre LoS (which any model in close combat does not have) and does not specify otherwise.
No, I don't have any wool.
- If the wizard in the front rank is in frontal base to base contact with an enemy, then he can see that enemy.
- If he is in contact with two different units he can see them both.
- If he is in partial frontal base to base contact he can see that unit, and most likely past it.
- If he isn't in frontal base to base contact but some other facing (or some other part of his unit) is, he can still see forward as normal.
What about a large wizard? Wouldn't he be able to see over regular-sized models in close combat?
---------- Post added at 11:31 ---------- Previous post was at 11:30 ----------
Wouldn't a large wizard in combat be able to see over-regularly sized models?
Dude, Anacron, what rule book are you reading? If your mage is in a unit that is locked in combat, regardless of the orientation of that mage, he cannot cast spells that require line of sight (magic missiles being the most common example).
Where's Rork when you need him? I'm about 6400 miles away from my rulebook.
actually in the rules book ONLY magic missiles are effected by this as it is attached to their section and no other. the "casting spells" section has no mention of combat in its description and only excludes fleeing mages as being unable to cast spells, otherwise? free game.Dude, Anacron, what rule book are you reading? If your mage is in a unit that is locked in combat, regardless of the orientation of that mage, he cannot cast spells that require line of sight (magic missiles being the most common example).
you can cast any spell if you have line of sight. for example the conflageration of doom could be cast directly onto a unit in base to base contact with the wizard in question as its not a magic missile and the wizard has line of sight of the unit in question.
its important to note that should the wizard be in combat the ONLY unit he can see is the one he's in combat with so should you wish to cast conflageration of doom at a target else where, no luck.
its for these reasons the slann is so damn good. the palaquin and being a large target means he can cast all he likes ^_^
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^