Curse of the Leper and WoC FAQ - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Curse of the Leper and WoC FAQ

    FYI, the spell spell Curse of the Leper is a RiP WoC Lore of Nurgle spell. Its effect is to lower the target unit's strength and toughness by 1. Once those stats reach zero, any model(s) go *poof*. Whole units can be wiped out.

    And then lo and behold, the FAQ says that, yes, multiple castings of the spell are cumulative. So if multiple wizards cast this upon a unit, it could wipe out a unit in a turn or two or three, depending on those str and to values.

    A rather friendly rules rendering for WoC, but my question is this:

    Sorcerer Lord Ted casts Curse of the Lepers on your puny Black Guard unit.
    Sorcerer Melvin casts Curse of the Lepers on the same puny Black Guard unit.

    Black Guard now have two instances of this spell cast on them, and things look grim. Now it's the Dark Elf player's magic phase, and he is using his remaining casting dice to dispel Curse of the Lepers (or imagine some other scenario where he's trying to rid himself of RiP spells). Must the Dark Elf player dispel it twice? Or just once?

    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    I would sya twice, as he has had two independent spells that somehow have the same effect cast upon the unit. In terms of visualsiing it, I would use some of the old WHFB Battle magic counters, and two castings = two counters. Thus each disple in my book would remove one "counter"....

  4. #3
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    I agree with Kithre. Two different casting means two dispel attempts.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  5. #4
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    That was my reading, but I wanted to hear it from someone else before I start lobbying for it during games. Thanks.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  6. #5
    Nox Archnomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Scotland, Ayr
    Posts
    1,705
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    147 (x5)

    I'm quite happy I brought that to the forums ;]

    Hehe, yeah I agree, 2 casts, 2 counters, 2 dispels. =]
    omgitsduane:

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Archnomad
    Well I picked up my first model when I was 7.

    I misunderstood that... ALOT

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  7. #6
    Senior Member BustaCaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    481
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x1)

    I'm assuming it would need two dispels as well, just because the spells are the same doesn't really make a difference. If someone had cast 2 different remains in play spells on a single unit, it would need two dispels as well, so the fact they are the same spell doesn't change anything.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts