Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do ratling guns need to see my unit to shoot at it when I'm are engaged, or can they just hide behind their unit and shoot into the combat.
I believe they still need line of sight to their intended target. However i also think that they may be allowed to target their own unit, in which case they can shoot into combat (at their own unit) and hits will be randomised between units in combat.
They need to actually see and target the enemy unit. Being able to hit a friendly unit is only ever collateral damage, not an ability to leapfrog the range and/or line of site issues.
Damn skaven and their millions of special rules...
Skaven (and SoC): <a href='http://s6.invisionfree.com/The_UnderEmpire/' target='_blank'>http://s6.invisionfree.com/The_UnderEmpire/</a>
Page 10 of skaven rule book under "life is cheep" First 2 sentences will answer both your questions.
Painting: 20 quarrelers
skaven are bound by the regular rules of targetting opponents, however just note they can target combats. Its as simple as that for the rats People tend to over complicate skaven and their rules. Its easy really. Here are some typically mistaken rules:
1. Weapon teams are unit str 2 skirmishers, so no -1 to shoot at them, they get a 6+ save, and have 360 lines of sight. They CANNOT stand and shoot if you charge their parent unit.
2. Skaven are bound by the regular rules of targeting when shooting, however note they CAN shoot into combat, but the initial target must still be the opponent.
3. The grey seer, does NOT gain the screaming bells ward save only the bell uses its own ward save, he does gain the save for being mounted on a chariot though... everyone forgets that.
4. If you cause wounds on your own unit by dropping poisen wind globes, failing reliable checks, etc you CAN cause a panic check on your own unit.
5. The brass orb auto kills steam tanks... the steam tank CANNOT pass an initiative check The bell DOES NOT auto kill a steam tank, it does cause wounds this is clarified in the FAQ
6. Warpstone charm cannot be used to re-roll 1 dice on the bell.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)