Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When you have a penalty to your to hit roll in shooting is it -1 to your BS or -1 to your to hit roll?
For example a High Elf commander has BS6, if hes shooting at something over half range is his BS effectively reduced to 5 so he still hits on 2+ or is his to hit roll of 2+ reduced to 3+.
I think it is the BS reduction, because otherwise what is the use of having over BS5? So what are the real rules? Thanks.
Technically, it goes against your to hit roll. However, a BS 6 is really a 1+ to hit roll, but as in Warhammer a roll of a 1 to hit always fails, so you need to not roll a 1. So technically shooting at long range brings your 'to hit' roll up to a 2+ from a 1+. Basically, you're going from trying not to roll a one to trying to roll a 2 or better. :huh:
Confused yet? :lol:
Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely...
but it rocks absolutely, too!
No that made sense and works when comparing against the wording in the rulebook. Thanks.
One other thing I thought of after my last post... Can you get worse than 6 to hit so its impossible to shoot BS2 over half range, after moving, at a single target or something like that? Or does the same principle apply and you always hit on a 6?
You can actually get a 7+ to hit. What you need to do then is roll and any 6's are rolled again to see if they get 7+. This is explained in the BRB.
As to the answer before he's correct, it doesn't really affect your BS but the to hit roll. But most player will do it that you take away from the BS, it makes it a lot easier than rolling first and then figuring out which ones hit by adding bonues/penalties on top.
So it's usually done like this:
Dwarven Thunderer : BS4
He fires at a unit at long range, and he moved in his turn. So this equals a -2 penalty to his roll, and effectively makes his BS2. So now he needs to roll 6's to hit.