Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So this came up in a match between two friends at the last tourney I attended.
A giant rolls for Thump with Club (big things attack) and picks up a model. The victimized model makes an initiative test and fails. The giant then rolls 2d6 wounds. Let's say he rolls the average 7.
Does the victim take 1 ward save or 7?
The player controlling the victim thinks it's 1 ward save. He says it's 1 single initiative test so 1 save, similar to saving a wounds from a multi-wound weapon.
The giant's controlling player says its 1 save per wound.
I agree with the latter.
IMO, this is not a case of a multi-wound weapon. Those sorts of weapons clearly state, "An unsaved wound becomes D3 wounds" or something similar.
In other situations where a model takes an In, Str, or To test, that model isn't allowed a save against that test, only against the wound(s) caused by failing it, if they're allowed at all.
What do you think?
I tend to agree with you David - it is not a multi-wound weapon, the giant rolls 2d6 wounds, not rolls to wound and then multiplies by 2d6.
Therefore multiple ward saves are in order.
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon
Warhammer World GT rules is one save against and if failed suffer 2D6 wounds. Not entirely official, but there it is.
Im going to go with 7.
Normally, 1 attack => 1 wound => 1 save => 1 wound if not saved
Magic Weapon, 1 attack => 1 wound => 1 save => D3 wounds if not saved
Giant, 1 "attack" => D6 wounds => D6 saves => d6 wounds if not saved
Edit, actually, having read the description of the attack: ''with no armour SAVE allowed'' Singular, not plural.. so maybe it is just 1 ward save for the lot.
Last edited by Phoenix; March 11th, 2009 at 03:11.
I'm going to have to say 1 ward save.
The O&G book which details the description for the giant attacks says "a single mighty blow" which does 2d6 wounds. That sounds like one attack and therefor one save to me...
/shrug, I think the absence of any other official response from GW, it's tough to argue against the GT FAQ at an organised event that hasn't supplied its own FAQ addressing the issue.
Here you go!
Warhammer World | Fantasy Wargaming at the Heart of The Hobby: Warhammer World Events
FAQs/House Rules are about 2/3 of the way down:
edit: fixed link from 40K to FB
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; March 11th, 2009 at 19:09.