Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, these things have come up recently and I couldn't find the answers.
1. A flyer pursues off the table. When it comes back on its allowed to move as normal, no charging or marching. Does this mean it can then fly 20"? From what I've read about flyers their "move" is a 20" fly, so I've had him flying when he comes back on the table.
2. I have a unit of 5 knights with a caster on the end. I get charged by a single vampire on a mount. When he hits me, can he slide down so he's fighting my caster? I know he has to maximize the number of troops in combat, but if he slides down to the 2nd from the end, he can attack my caster and 3 of my troops are in combat, which is max.
3. And finally, this isn't really specified in the rules but I'm curious how people play it. Hills and large targets for LoS. If you are behind a hill and a large target is behind a hill, can you see him? If you are on a hill and you have a unit on the same hill between you and the large target, can you see the large target?
1) Flying is fine. It just happens in remaining moves so has missed the opportunity to charge (and marching is explicitly forbidden).
2) Couldn't really follow your question. A charge can line up to a character in a unit no problem as long as it is within charge range and brings as many models into contact as possible.
3) We specify our terrain during placement, and agree as to whether is blocks LOS of large targets.
#2, no you cannot 'slide' down the line to choose your opponent. However, there is no rule that says the charge has to be the shortest possible route. If the charging model has enough movement to simply get there and make contact so that he has corner to corner with the mage, that's fine.
#3a Technically model's eye view, but I think most people would tend to resolve it as hill blocks LOS. Also, I don't even remember the last time someone put down a hill that wasn't against a table edge
#3b Yes you can see him. Intervening models can be ignored to draw LOS to a large target. Relative height is unspecified by the rule and has no affect.
Yeah, this rule is ridiculous. Whats to stop me from bringing a giant thats only 1" tall and using hills that are 5" tall? There are way too many ways to get by that rule. I wish GW would set an actual rule about this sometime.#3a Technically model's eye view, but I think most people would tend to resolve it as hill blocks LOS. Also, I don't even remember the last time someone put down a hill that wasn't against a table edge
/shrug, everybody has a preference. 4th edition 40K had abstract terrain like that and lots of people thought it was stupid that "What do you mean I can't shoot that tank? I can see the entire thing! One tread is obscured by a pebble!" "Sorry, that whole base of ruins is size 3, can't see past it."
Speaking of Tomb Scorpions and shortest route charges, I made this picture of a scenario that occurs once in a blue moon. (The picture also includes a diagram of the previous question with the vampire on horse sniping a mage in the enemy cavalry unit.)
As always, my picture is drawn to scale and each dot represents a one inch distance.
A Tomb Scorpion uses It Came From Below and gets himself unburrowed in a good position to either charge a warmachine, or an archer line. I assess the situation and determine that it would be best if he'd kill both! I angle the Scorpion when he unburrows to be within LOS of the war machine, but not directly looking at it. When I charge, I use the Scorpions extreme charge length (14") to rush past the warmachine crew, and the use my one free pivot turn to nearly do a 180 and face the warmachine from a different angle before completing my charge. After the wamachine crew is killed, I over-run into the flank of the archer line.
Per the rules as written, I think I am totally justified in making a move like this - with certain caveauts.
1. First the charging unit must be a single character (mounted or on foot) or be a monster. Only the special monster turning during a charge rule would allow such an extreme turn to be pulled off.
2. Also, the target unit must be a warmachine, single character on foot (not a Ogre/Monster type character) or a skirmishing unit. Since these types of units have no front/flank/rear, they may be charged from any angle, and must align to the charger, instead of the other way around.
3. Finally, if the warmachine crew elects to Flee as a charge reaction, obviously, I would follow them in a straight line, and not be able to present a good overrun effect into the achers.
I have pulled this move off once in my many years of playing Tomb Kings. It was against a High Elf player, and he was not very amused - especially since his level 4 Mage was hanging out with the archers at the time.
Is it legal? What do you think?
I just noticed in my picture - it should say 'Free Pivot' instead of 'Free Turn' where the Scorpion is turning to get a good pounce angle on the ballista.
Last edited by MobiusPrime; March 14th, 2009 at 10:08.
Lol. Technically, it may be legal. But personally i would never use it... Charges are meant to be in a ''straight line'' (with the exception of the allowed pivot). From from my PoV im going to call it not legal lol. Nice in tourneys though